Missing Monotony

Hey guys!!!

Halfway through the challenge! Woohooo

13 more posts to write! And I am in a slump ://////

Anyway,

Here is today’s post


It’s funny how when our world is shaken up all we wish is for some peace and quiet. For it to all settle down

But when it’s a blur of days, each day the same as the previous, we crave excitement, some drama, something, anything to happen

Are we ever content?

I’m still in two minds about school. But it seems like I’ll be going back for at least this year. I couldn’t leave midway in good faith.

Still pondering over things, I hear Xavia clearing her throat to catch my attention.

“Hi Xav”

“Hey girl, lost in thought are we?”, she smiled

“Yeahh..”

The past week has been us just easing back into monotony. So it’s not totally normal. She’s been feeling much better and is working a couple of hours here and there.

Mr.Mendoa is going to be released soon, he has a long road of recovery ahead. When we got the news, you could see the weight being lifted off Xavia. We celebrated with cotton candy ice cream. That was a good day.

But with all things heavy, we never come back to who we used to be. After all, we are not springs. 

“You zoned out again Val”, she said chuckling.

“Oopsies.”

“What’s up?”

“Ahh.. just wondering about school.”

“What about it?”

“I don’t know if I want to go back. But I can’t leave midway, without any notice either. Plus I’ll feel guilty.”

“It’s your life Val. You should do whatever you think makes you happy. It’s okay to put yourself first.”

“I know.. I know.. But..”

“No but’s. Just stop wondering and analysing the consequences. You can’t predict them, regardless of how much time you spend thinking about it.”

“Hmm..”

“I know it feels like your entire world is in your mind. But just stop and look outwards. There is so much out there, in the real world.”

“I get that, Xav. But it’s not as easy as looking up to stop spiralling my very speedy thoughts.”

“Believe me I understand. I empathise. I-”

“It’s okay Xav. Now come on, let’s get out and grab something to eat. Monotony can wait”


What do you do when you feel like you’re stuck in a rut?

Also more important question how do you get out of a slump? Send some advice to your girl please!!!

Got to go write tomorrow’s post 😭

Dream

12 thoughts on “Missing Monotony

  1. Trust me today I am feeling the heat of the challenge in highest intensity. My wrist is paining. I have cervical spondylosis issue and somehow I am getting on. As we speak I am trying Google mic to type the comments. So if any mistakes please pardon me. If I am in rut I try to take a break , cut off from world get me time and bounce back when I can. I am sure you will too!

    Dropping by from a to z http://afshan-shaik.blogspot.com/

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment